River City Runners Club

RUNOHIO Monthly Newsletter

Sign Up Now

Print
PDF

River City Runners Club

Written by Donna Graham on 21 November 2016.

River City Runners Club was founded in 1981 by a group of dedicated runners from Parkersburg, WV, and surrounding areas. Gary Ogilvie was the first president of the club. Thirteen presidents have served the club in the past 35 years. The current president is Kevin McCleary.

The name of the club was changed in 2009 to River City Runners & Walkers Club to embrace the steadily growing number of walkers in the club.

The Mission Statement of RCRWC is as follows:  RCRWC is a non-profit organization which promotes road racing, running, and walking as a sport for both competition and recreation for the benefit of fitness, fun, health, and quality of life.

As of September 1, 2016, RCRWC included 794 members, making it the largest running/walking club in West Virginia.

Club members are active in Road Runners Club of America activities, and the club has been awarded five National RRCA Awards in the past six years:  2010, Chip Allman, Outstanding Club President; 2011, Donna Graham, Outstanding Large Club Newsletter; 2012, Melissa Wigal, Outstanding Beginning Running Program; 2014, Amy Eddy, Outstanding Youth Program; and 2015, Chip Allman, Outstanding Race of the Year (Parkersburg News and Sentinel Half Marathon).

In 2016, four races were designated as RRCA WV State Championships: Kicks for Kids, 5K; Chick-Fil-A, 10K; News and Sentinel 2-Mile; and Vienna River Road Race, 5-Mile. The Parkersburg News and Sentinel Half Marathon was designated as the RRCA Half Marathon National Championship.

RCRWC sponsors several high school cross country scholarships each year; the club also sponsors one scholarship for furthering the education of a deserving RCRWC member. The club is also instrumental in providing running shoes to needy children/students in the surrounding areas.

River City Runners & Walkers Club is open to all interested runners, walkers, and their families and friends!

Address:  River City Runners & Walkers Club, P. O. Box 4496, Parkersburg, WV 26104

Website:  rivercityrunners.com or rivercityrunnersandwalkers.com

Check out more clubs:

Ohio River Road Runners Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1218-get-running-with-the-ohio-river-road-runners-club

Runners’ Club of Greater Cincinnati - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1104-runners-club-of-greater-cincinnati

Toledo Road Runner Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1067-toledo-road-runner-club

Youngstown Road Runners Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1031-youngstown-road-runners-club

Columbus Running Company - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1004-columbus-running-club

Northeast Running Club - NERC -http://runohio.com/index.php/features/957-northeast-ohio-running-club-nerc

Fremont Elite Runners’ Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1178-fremont-elite-runners-club

**Send RUNOHIO your Running Club info to be spotlighted in an upcoming issue of RUNOHIO to - This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

 

 

Review: 2017 Spring Shoe Review

Current Issue