Summit Athlete Running Club

RUNOHIO Monthly Newsletter

Sign Up Now

Print
PDF

Summit Athlete Running Club

on 24 January 2017.

The Summit Athlete Running Club, (“SARC”), was formed in 1968 under the leadership of legendary area runner from that era, Jim Klett.  The club serves the Akron, Ohio and Summit County area.  The current president is Steve Hailer, former Ohio Northern University cross country runner from the late 1960’s.

The original name of the club was the Summit Athletic Club but was changed over ten years ago to avoid confusion with being perceived by the public as a gym.  The club has over 300 members and is growing again.

The motto of SARC is, “A club for all runners.”  All of the SARC events are supported by volunteers. SARC has a history of hosting well run professional events.  Specifically the club calendar includes eight races: The Frostbite Prediction 5K (members only) in February, The Shamrock 15K and 5K - March 12. The Jim Klett Race date is TBD for 2017, The Bill Heideman Race Series on three successive Thursday evenings in August, The Buckeye Half Marathon on October 29 in the Cuyahoga Falls area of the National Park, and the Great New Year’s Eve Run on December 31 in Stow. There are monthly club meetings, with the exception of February and December, on the second Tuesday of each month at the Mingo Pavillion in Sand Run Parkway, Akron located along a running and walking trail. February a special dinner is held to honor those volunteers who provide exceptional efforts.  In December a holiday party for members only is held.  All are eligible to attend. Running groups are available through independent efforts of club members.

SARC provides timing services on occasion to area races, donates over $10,000 to area high school seniors in scholarships, and contributes thousands of dollars to other area worthwhile projects like the Akron Canton Regional Foodbank.  The running club is a 501(c)3 organization and is founded on the principles of service to the amateur aspects of running including youth running, as well as, area community service.

The Summit Athletic Running Club is open to all runners whatever their speeds may be.  The club can be contacted by Facebook, Twitter, email through the website www.summitathletic.com, or by writing to our mailing address: Summit Athletic Running Club. P.O. Box 1015, Cuyahoga Falls, OH 44223.

Check out more clubs:

Ohio River Road Runners' Club - 

http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1218-get-running-with-the-ohio-river-road-runners-club

Runners’ Club of Greater Cincinnati -http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1104-runners-club-of-greater-cincinnati

Toledo Road Runner Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1067-toledo-road-runner-club

Youngstown Road Runners Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1031-youngstown-road-runners-club

Columbus Running Company - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1004-columbus-running-club

Northeast Running Club - NERC -http://runohio.com/index.php/features/957-northeast-ohio-running-club-nerc

Fremont Elite Runners’ Club -  http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1178-fremont-elite-runners-club

River City Runners Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1247-river-city-runners-club

 

**Send RUNOHIO your Running Club info to be spotlighted in an upcoming issue of RUNOHIO to -  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

 

Review: 2017 Spring Shoe Review

Current Issue

9-17