Firelands Area Runners Club

RUNOHIO Monthly Newsletter

Sign Up Now

Print
PDF

Firelands Area Runners Club

on 22 March 2017.

Firelands Area Runners Club (FAR) was founded in 1978 by a group of dedicated runners from Sandusky, Ohio and the surrounding areas. Larry Fox was our first president. Since then a total of 13 people have been president of the club. Jody Geyer is our current president.

The club's name is derived from a reference to our area of Ohio after the Revolutionary war. The Firelands or Sufferers' Lands tract was located at the western end of the Connecticut Western Reserve in what is now the U.S. State of Ohio. It took the name "Fire Lands" because the resale of this land was intended as financial restitution for residents of the Connecticut towns of Danbury, Fairfield, Greenwich, Groton, New Haven, New London, Norwalk, and Ridgefield. Their homes had been burned in 1779 and 1781 by British forces during the American Revolutionary War.. "Fire Lands" was later spelled as one word, 'Firelands'.

The following is our mission statement: Firelands Area Runners is a non-profit running club in northwestern Ohio.  The prime purpose of the Firelands Area Runners (FAR) is the promotion of running as a means of better mental and physical health and as a recreational activity.  To this end, Firelands Area Runners provides guidance and assistance to numerous local road races.  The club also has clinics, picnics, dinners, outings, and a monthly newsletter. The club is open to all with an interest in running, regardless of gender, race, or ability. Firelands Area Runners is a Charter member of Road Runners Club of America.

For the last few years FAR has had approximately 130 members. Every year a few new members join and a few move on to other interests.

FAR facilitates or coordinates with the race sponsor over 20 running events in Northern Ohio every year. The membership is very dedicated in promoting running.

Two college scholarships are presented to a male and female area high school senior every year through donations and fund raising by the Firelands Area Runners club membership. The Membership is also involved in various other charitable events during the year.

Website: www.firelandsarearunners.org

Check out more clubs:

Summit Athlete Running Club -

http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1280-summit-athlete-running-club

Ohio River Road Runners' Club - 

http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1218-get-running-with-the-ohio-river-road-runners-club

Runners’ Club of Greater Cincinnati -http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1104-runners-club-of-greater-cincinnati

Toledo Road Runner Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1067-toledo-road-runner-club

Youngstown Road Runners Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1031-youngstown-road-runners-club

Columbus Running Company - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1004-columbus-running-club

Northeast Running Club - NERC -http://runohio.com/index.php/features/957-northeast-ohio-running-club-nerc

Fremont Elite Runners’ Club -  http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1178-fremont-elite-runners-club

River City Runners Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1247-river-city-runners-club

 **Send RUNOHIO your Running Club info to be spotlighted in an upcoming issue of RUNOHIO to - 

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Review: 2017 Spring Shoe Review

Current Issue

9-17