Cleveland West Road Runners Club

RUNOHIO Monthly Newsletter

Sign Up Now

Print
PDF

Cleveland West Road Runners Club

Written by Bob Myers on 26 July 2017.

Cleveland West Road Runners Club (CWRRC) is one of the oldest and most well regarded running clubs in the greater Cleveland area.  Founded in 1977, for 40 years CWRRC has been promoting an active lifestyle centered on running of all forms.  The club welcomes and encourages participants of all abilities, from basic walkers through premier runners, and all ages from youth to senior athletes still engaging in their 80's and beyond.  By offering a widening range of events the club aims to further expand current membership and grow our outreach in the northeast Ohio running community. 

Each week the club hosts 3-4 group runs at various local venues such as the Cleveland  Metroparks. Following our Saturday morning group run we meet for coffee at a nearby bakery for some awesome conversation and fellowship! Quarterly we prepare a special breakfast in the park following our Saturday group run.

The club sponsors at least three major races each year including the Fall Classic half marathon and 5K, the July 4th Bay Days 5-miler and 1 mile fun run, and Spring in the park women’s 10K.  These races together draw several thousand participants of all ages from all over.  The Fall Classic and Bay Days races have been running now for over 40 years and are among the most popular races in northeast Ohio. We now host the women’s- only 10K in the spring.

To celebrate two major milestone anniversaries, Cleveland West 40th and the Cleveland Metroparks 100th, the club is hosting a special members-only event this year:  "The Quest for the Emerald Necklace".  CWRRC members are challenged to run or walk 140 miles in 2017 and the catch is you must do at least 3 miles in each of the 19 Cleveland Metroparks reservations including the zoo.  Complete the challenge and you will earn a custom T-shirt but best of all you will explore the amazing Cleveland Metroparks.

Cleveland West Road Runners Club is committed to giving back to the community to organizations whose mission aligns closely with the goals of the club.  CWRRC operates as a 501(c) (3) tax exempt organization and each year donates profits from the major races to local charities and organizations including the Cleveland Metroparks United Trail Fun, Carolyn L. Farrell Foundation, West Side Community House and the Girls with Sole.

Cleveland West Road Runners Club is a non-profit member club of the Road Runners Club of America (RRCA).  CWRRC accepts dues which are spent by volunteer officers (elected by club members).  A portion of the dues is paid to the RRCA, which provides insurance and organizational assistance.  We use dues and other funds to organize the events and to donate to charitable causes. 

We welcome you, your ideas and we look forward to running many, many more miles together.  

Cleveland West Road Runners Club,  PO Box 771011,  Lakewood, OH 44107

www.clewestrunningclub.org

Read about these running clubs on www.runohio.com

Brewery District Running Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1323-brewery-district-running-club

Summit Athlete Running Club -http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1280-summit-athlete-running-club

Ohio River Road Runners' Club- http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1218-get-running-with-the-ohio-river-road-runners-club

Runners’ Club of Greater Cincinnati-http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1104-runners-club-of-greater-cincinnati

Toledo Road Runner Club- http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1067-toledo-road-runner-club

Youngstown Road RunnersClub- http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1031-youngstown-road-runners-club

Columbus RunningCompany- http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1004-columbus-running-club

Northeast Running Club - NERC-http://runohio.com/index.php/features/957-northeast-ohio-running-club-nerc

Fremont Elite Runners’ Clubhttp://runohio.com/index.php/features/1178-fremont-elite-runners-club

River City Runners Club- http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1247-river-city-runners-club

Firelands Area Runners Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1308-firelands-area-runners-club

  **Send RUNOHIO your Running Club info to be spotlighted in an upcoming issue of RUNOHIO to -  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

www.runohio.com

Review: 2017 Spring Shoe Review

Current Issue

9-17