Print

Black Girls RUN - Cincinnati

on 20 July 2018.

In 2011, Black Girls RUN started a group in Cincinnati.  For 7 years, we have helped women gain confidence as they train for all types of races from 5ks to full marathons. We currently have over 3,000 members and hold run meet ups 7 days a week throughout the Greater Cincinnati Area.

Our overall mission is to improve the health of African American women who are suffering from heart disease and diabetes at alarming rates. It is reported by Columbia University Medical Center that 56.9% of black women are obese. We provide a support system for women to increase their activity, learn about healthy eating, and lose the weight which is negatively impacting their overall health. Women set goals to compete in local races such as Queen Bee and Flying Pig.

In 2009, Black Girls RUN! was created by cofounders, Toni Carey and Ashley Hicks, in an effort to tackle the growing obesity epidemic in the African-American community and provide encouragement and resources to both new and veteran runners. The mission of Black Girls RUN! is to encourage ALL (especially African-American women) to make fitness and healthy living a priority. According to the Centers for Disease Control, 80% of African-American women are overweight. BGR! wants to create a movement to lower that percentage and subsequently, lower the number of women with chronic diseases associated with an unhealthy diet and sedentary lifestyle. The organization is open to ALL women, no men allowed!

The Black Girls RUN! Mission:  The mission of Black Girls RUN! is to encourage ALL (especially African-American women) to make fitness and healthy living a priority.

 The Black Girls RUN! Vision:  We aspire to take a comprehensive and creative approach to improve the health statistics of women of color.

Besides the Cincinnati Black Girls RUN there are also over 60 clubs in the USA including clubs in: Cleveland, Columbus,  Indianapolis, IN; Ann Arbor, MI;  Detroit, MI; and Pittsburgh, PA.

For more information on Black Girls Run-  Cincinnati. Atra Williams This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it  or Angela Gray This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Check out Black Girls Run National web site:  https://blackgirlsrun.com

Yes, there is also an National organization for Men - Black Men Run - https://blkmenrun.com

**Send RUNOHIO your Running Club info to be spotlighted in an upcoming issue of RUNOHIO  -  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Read about these running clubs on www.runohio.com

Toledo Road Runners Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1518-the-toledo-roadrunners-club

Youngstown Road Runners Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1433-youngstown-road-runners-club

 Columbus Running Company - http://www.columbusrunning.com

 Cleveland West Road Runners Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features?start=11

 Brewery District Running Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1323-brewery-district-running-club

 Summit Athlete Running Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1280-summit-athlete-running-club   

Ohio River Road Runners' Club- http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1218-get-running-with-the-ohio-river-road-runners-club

Youngstown Road Runners - Club- http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1031-youngstown-road-runners-club

Northeast Running Club - NERC- http://runohio.com/index.php/features/957-northeast-ohio-running-club-nerc  

River City Runners Club- http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1247-river-city-runners-club

Firelands Area Runners Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1308-firelands-area-runners-club

Fremont Elite Runners’ Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1448-fremont-elite-runners-club

Runners’ Club of Greater Cincinnati - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1471-runners-club-of-greater-cincinnati

 

  **Send RUNOHIO your Running Club info to be spotlighted in an upcoming issue of RUNOHIO to -  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

www.runohio.com