Columbus Black Men Run

RUNOHIO Monthly Newsletter

Sign Up Now

Print
PDF

Columbus Black Men Run

on 16 September 2018.

Mission Statement: To encourage health and wellness among African American men by promoting a culture of running/jogging to stay fit resulting in “A Healthy Brotherhood”

Why is there a need for Black Men Run? Because the numbers don’t lie:

  •  Among Blacks age 20 and older, 44.4% of men have Cardiovascular Diseases
  •  In 2009, Coronary Heart Disease (CHD) caused the deaths of 21,051 Black males
  •  Blacks have a risk of first-ever stroke that is almost twice that of whites
  •  Heart disease is the #1 cause of death for African American males


At Black Men Run we believe that running/jogging can change these alarming trends and we are here to encourage African American males to get out and be active. Research tells us that running on a regular basis not only benefits individuals from a physical standpoint but also increase mental sharpness. Studies show that running on a regular basis helps to boost your confidence, relieves stress and eliminates depression.

Weekly Group Runs

Every Saturday 10 AM @ Blacklick Woods Metro Park (unless there is a race that day)

Contact Info

Maclin Williams – BMR Columbus, Ohio chapter captain

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

(318) 572-8220

Website - Facebook Group, Black Men Run Columbus

https://www.facebook.com/groups/431039673761449/

http://blkmenrun.com/columbus

Besides the Columbus Black Men RUN there are also nearly  60 clubs in the USA including clubs in: Cincinnati, Cleveland; Indianapolis, IN; Louisville, KY; Detroit, MI; and Pittsburgh, PA.

Yes, there is also an National organization for Women - Black Girls Run - https://blackgirlsrun.com

**Send RUNOHIO your Running Club info to be spotlighted in an upcoming issue of RUNOHIO  -   This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Read about more running clubs on www.runohio.com

**Send RUNOHIO your Running Club info to be spotlighted in an upcoming issue of RUNOHIO  -  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Black Girls RUN - Cincinnati -

http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1533-black-girls-run-cincinnati

Toledo Road Runners Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1518-the-toledo-roadrunners-club

Youngstown Road Runners Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1433-youngstown-road-runners-club

 Columbus Running Company - http://www.columbusrunning.com

 Cleveland West Road Runners Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features?start=11

 Brewery District Running Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1323-brewery-district-running-club

 Summit Athlete Running Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1280-summit-athlete-running-club   

Ohio River Road Runners' Club- http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1218-get-running-with-the-ohio-river-road-runners-club

Youngstown Road Runners - Club- http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1031-youngstown-road-runners-club

Northeast Running Club - NERC- http://runohio.com/index.php/features/957-northeast-ohio-running-club-nerc

 River City Runners Club- http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1247-river-city-runners-club

Firelands Area Runners Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1308-firelands-area-runners-club

Fremont Elite Runners’ Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1448-fremont-elite-runners-club

Runners’ Club of Greater Cincinnati - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1471-runners-club-of-greater-cincinnati

  **Send RUNOHIO your Running Club info to be spotlighted in an upcoming issue of RUNOHIO to -  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

www.runohio.com

Current Issue