Mansfield Area Y Run Club - A Group of People High on Life

RUNOHIO Monthly Newsletter

Sign Up Now

Print
PDF

Mansfield Area Y Run Club - A Group of People High on Life

Written by Bob Schroer on 22 February 2019.

A group of friends wanting to run together (Renee, Amy, John, Rob, Karen and Steve) , started a run on Tuesday evenings during the early months of 2002 meeting at the local YMCA. The course was rolled for distance by Steve who was coaching a cross country team.  This route is still followed today. I joined them in May as the first non-runner and received good coaching and encouragement.

Renee and Amy, created a training plan for members of the club to run a half marathon in 2003.  We ran Sunday mornings from a different host house each week. There was snow sometimes but always a warm breakfast meal afterwards. The Sunday morning runs still goes on today and we still run in all kinds of weather. Coming in from a Tuesday run Renee, Amy and myself suggested we go to a local restaurant after our run. This is referred to as our “Post Run Endorphin Rush” time which is still going on today.

Our Turkey Trot was started, re-started, in 2005 by Amy whose father was in the former Mid-Ohio Striders running club here in town. The Striders had twelve runners for their first Turkey Trot.  We still follow the same course for the race. We started with six runners and now this annual tradition draws over one hundred and fifty runners.  The race is over fifty years old as it first was held in 1967.  The club  collects non-perishable items for a local shelter at the race and fill up two pick-up trucks with food donated.

The club was adopted by our local Y and now club members can get a Mansfield Area Y Running Club shirt.  A weekly club newsletter was started in 2006 lasting for six years. In 2009 a Facebook page was created and is now the club's main channel of communication.

The club sponsors and help with other local races.  The club also has trail runs, speed workouts, hill workouts, core workouts and an annual dinner.  A number of club members also hold group runs on the other end of the town.

Recently Karen started a series called Parkrun https://www.parkrun.com

CLUB MISSION: Support Local Runners by providing Group Runs and Supporting Local Races

CLUB MEMBERSHIP:  By Participation and Association • No Dues • No Officers, No Meetings • You do not have to belong to the YMCA to belong to Mansfield Area Y Run Club.

 

 **Send RUNOHIO your Running Club info to be spotlighted in an upcoming issue of RUNOHIO  -   This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Read about more running clubs on - www.runohio.com

Run the Land - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1616-run-the-land

Youngstown Road Runners  Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1607-youngstown-road-runners-club

Columbus Black Men Run - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1555-columbus-black-men-run

Black Girls RUN - Cincinnati - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1533-black-girls-run-cincinnati

Toledo Road Runners Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1518-the-toledo-roadrunners-club

Columbus Running Company - http://www.columbusrunning.com

Cleveland West Road Runners Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features?start=11

Brewery District Running Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1323-brewery-district-running-club

Summit Athlete Running Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1280-summit-athlete-running-club    

Ohio River Road Runners' Club- http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1218-get-running-with-the-ohio-river-road-runners-club

Northeast Running Club - NERC- http://runohio.com/index.php/features/957-northeast-ohio-running-club-nerc

River City Runners Club- http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1247-river-city-runners-club

Firelands Area Runners Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1308-firelands-area-runners-club

Fremont Elite Runners’ Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1448-fremont-elite-runners-club

Runners’ Club of Greater Cincinnati - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1471-runners-club-of-greater-cincinnati

  **Send RUNOHIO your Running Club info to be spotlighted in an upcoming issue of RUNOHIO -  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Current Issue