Columbus Westside Running Club

RUNOHIO Monthly Newsletter

Sign Up Now

Print
PDF

Columbus Westside Running Club

Written by Carl Voellmecke on 24 July 2019.

Columbus Westside Running Club’s first run was January 12, 2016—a dozen friends and neighbors running around Westgate, an old and historic neighborhood on the city’s west side.  We quickly outgrew the neighborhood streets, switched to the 1.1 mile Westgate Park loop, and our “Loopy Tuesdays” was born.  Still our most popular night, we have dozens of runners and walkers out every week to run in a circle. Its way more fun than it sounds—just ask the participants who come out in rain, sleet, snow, wind, sun or darkness, each and every Tuesday at 6:30 p.m.

We have since added “Trail Thursdays” at Battelle Darby Metro Park—also at 6:30 p.m.—a popular second workout opportunity each week that adds some nature trail running and some hill training. The park features several interconnected loops, and it’s enjoyable to see everyone coming and going throughout the run.  Our “Long Run Saturdays” are on the Camp Chase Trail (part of the Ohio-to-Erie Trail) where, beginning at 7 a.m. in the summer and 8 a.m. in the winter, we alternate running west toward Battelle Darby Metro Park and east to the Scioto Mile downtown.

We also proudly host the Hilltop U.S.A.5K, our annual fundraiser, which takes place on the first Saturday of each July and benefits Veterans on the Hilltop. We sold out all 500 entries in 2019.

 For more information visit: www.hilltopusa5k.com  -   In addition, each year we provide extensive training plans for runners competing in Columbus Marathon and Cap City Half-Marathon events.

We believe that consistency is key to training, so we track attendance and meet every week, year-round, rain-or-shine. Our members logged 922 group runs in 2016 and already we are on pace for 3,500-4,000 in 2019. Club members are rewarded with a free “Tech 10” shirt each year after 10 participations, and Columbus Running Company has created some amazing long sleeve, short sleeve and singlet vest options for the team.

We’ll see you at a group run, the Hilltop U.S.A. 5K, or a race near you! 

Check out our Facebook page - www.cwrunclub.com


**Send RUNOHIO your Running Club info to be spotlighted in an upcoming issue of RUNOHIO to -   This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it   or  RUNOHIO, PO Box 238, Granville, OH 43023

Read about more running clubs on - www.runohio.com

Mansfield Area Y Run Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1618-mansfield-area-y-run-club-a-group-of-people-high-on-life

Run the Land - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1616-run-the-land

Youngstown Road Runners  Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1607-youngstown-road-runners-club

Columbus Black Men Run - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1555-columbus-black-men-run

Black Girls RUN - Cincinnati - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1533-black-girls-run-cincinnati

Toledo Road Runners Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1518-the-toledo-roadrunners-club

Columbus Running Company - http://www.columbusrunning.com

Cleveland West Road Runners Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features?start=11

Brewery District Running Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1323-brewery-district-running-club

Summit Athlete Running Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1280-summit-athlete-running-club    

Ohio River Road Runners' Club- http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1218-get-running-with-the-ohio-river-road-runners-club

Northeast Running Club - NERC- http://runohio.com/index.php/features/957-northeast-ohio-running-club-nerc

River City Runners Club- http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1247-river-city-runners-club

Firelands Area Runners Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1308-firelands-area-runners-club

Fremont Elite Runners’ Club - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1448-fremont-elite-runners-club

Runners’ Club of Greater Cincinnati - http://runohio.com/index.php/features/1471-runners-club-of-greater-cincinnati

 

  **Send RUNOHIO your Running Club info to be spotlighted in an upcoming issue of RUNOHIO -    This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

 

Current Issue