2016 OHSAA State Cross Country Championships

RUNOHIO Monthly Newsletter

Sign Up Now


2016 OHSAA State Cross Country Championships

Written by Matt McGowan on 07 November 2016.

Hebron  November 5 - With nearly perfect November cross country weather  as the 88th Boys and 39th Girls Ohio High School Athletic Association State Cross Country Championships greeted 560 boys from 181 schools and 539 girls from 166 schools.  Nearly 13,000 fans enjoyed the weather, the six races and perhaps the country‚Äôs best High School State Cross Country Championships.

The Boys Division III race was the first Championships of the day as runners started east of the Grandstands and ran a half mile before running in front of the grandstands, the runners made a 180 turn at the start of the race track and ran on the west side of the track before looping for almost a mile in the field west of the grandstands.  Then the runners returned to the northwest part of the grandstands before turning north and crossed the bridge/ramp put in place to cross over the race track.  The runners then headed to the northeast woods.  The runners would return from the area near the start and run the final 100 meters in front of the main grandstands.

A pack of five runners hit the first mile in 4:56.  Colonel Crawford's junior Chad Johnson (who finished seventh last year) had a nine second lead by the 2 mile mark and widened his lead as he won in 15:18.  Ottoville's junior Brandon Siefker moved up two spots from last year to captured runner up honors in 15:34.  Independence's senior Tyler Polman moved up four spots from last year to win the bronze in 15:43.  Carey's senior Trevor Cook improved seven spot from 2015 to finish fourth in 15:52.  Garrwettsville Garfield'd  sophomore Tyler Klouda finished fifth in 15:57

Ft Loramie finished fourth in 2015 stood atop the podium as the Division III team champion with 97 points. St Thomas Aquinas captured the runner up trophy with 120 points.  Maplewood finished third with 125 points, while Leesburg Fairfield (169) and Mount Gilead (186) rounded out the top five.

In the boy's Division II race Buckeye Valley's junior Zach Kreft opened up a eight second lead at the mile mark. Kreft last year entered the race with a case of bronchitis and finished last would have the largest margin of victory of the day as he won by twenty five seconds with his 15:16.  Heath's  senior Taylor Hopkins improved nine spot from last year to win runner up honors in 15:41.  Carrollton's senior Cole Lovett moved up thirty nine spots from 2015 to captured the bronze in 15:45.  Bexley's senior Peter Hayden improved eighteen spots from last year to finish fourth in 15:48.  Woodridge's senior Yousef Elkurd and Maumee Zak Kirk finished next in 15:51.

Peninsula Woodridge finished fourth in 2015 won their seventh Division II boy's title with 72 points. Last year's winner Lexington finished second with 106 points.  Rocky River (152) was third.  Dayton Carroll improved twelve spots from 2015 to finished fourth with 170 points.  Bay Village (173) improved one  spot from last year to finish fifth.

Lakota East junior Dustin Horter who was third last year race had a two second lead at the mile mark and was one second behind Olentangy Orange's senior Hunter Moore (9;34) at the two mile mark turned in the fastest time of the day with his 15:02 to win the Division crown. . Moore faded from first to eighth in the final 250 meters.  Pickerington Central's junior Matt Scrape improved twenty one spots from 2015 to take home runner up honors in 15:08.  Middletown's sophomore Conant Smith (15:13) finished third.  St Ignatius's senior C. J. Ambrosio improved ten spots from 2015 to finish fourth in 15:15. Dublin Coffman's junior Lucas Bons improved sixteen spots to round out the top five in 15:16.

Solon improved from their 2015 third place finish to win with 79 points.  Hudson improved six spots from last year to take home the runner up trophy with 156 points.  St Xavier moved up six spots from last year to finish third with 163 points.  Thomas Worthington was 15th in 2015 finish fourth with 172 points.  Louisville (181) dropped a spot from last year to fifth.

Lima Central Catholic's junior Emily Sreenan was eighth in 2015 opened up a twelve second lead at the mile mark and a sixteen second lead at two miles won the Division III crown in 18:01.  Lancaster Fairfield Christian's senior Kyleigh Edwards moved up one spot from last year to take home runner up honors in 18:24.  Gilmour Academy's Katie Engle finished 26th in the Division II race last year won the Division III bronze in 18:30.  Fostoria St Wendelin 's senior Sophia Volpe (18:32) and Minster's freshman Emma Watcke (18:36) rounded out the top five.

Minster improved one spot from last year to win it's all time record tenth State Cross Country girls Division III crown with an all time low score for girls with only 38 points.  Last year's winner Louisville St Thomas Aquinas finished second with 95 points.  Gilmour Academy was third with 154 points.  Pettisville improved two  spots to place fourth with 175 points while McDonald (233) moved down two spots from last year to finish fifth.

Beachwood's junior Leah Roter seventh in 2015 won the Division II race with her 17:55.  Chagrin Falls' junior improved three spots from last year to captured runner up honor in 18:02.  Cleveland Heights Beaumont's sophomore Ashley Rulison moved up seven spots from last year to take home the bronze in 18:09.  Liberty Union's junior Sydnee Mangette

was forty fifth in 2015 finished fourth in 18:14 while Cloverleaf's senior Riley Freeland improved nineteen spots from last year to finish fifth in 18:15.

Peninsula Woodridge moved up five spots to claim the Division II title with 88 points.  The girls joined the boys team and only four time in the history of the Championships has a school captured both team titles on hte same day.  Last year winner Lexington took home the runner up trophy with 123 points.  Tipp City Tippecanoe moved down one spot from last year to finish third with 139 points.  Chagrin Falls improved one spot for 2015 to place fourth with 185 points.  Granville finished seventh in 2015 in the Division I race had their top runner not able to finish and the team placed fifth with 200 points.

Hilliard Davidson's senior India Johnson who placed second last year and won the Division I 3200 meters in track took the lead at the start and won with a new course record of 17:18.  Olentangy Orange's sophomore Allison Guagenti improved five spots from 2015 to capture runner up honors with her 17:35.  Solon's sophomore Olivia Howell moved up two spots from last year to take home the bronze in 17:37.  Amelia's Maddie Walker moved up eight spots from last year to place fourth in 17:42.  Cincinnati Turpin's sophomore Samantha Bush improved thirteen spots from 2015 to place fifth in 17:55 just a hundredth of a second ahead of Troy's junior Morgan Gigandet.

Centerville three-peated as they won  with 120 points.  Troy moved up three spots from 2015 to take home runner up honors with 145 points.  Beavercreek moved up twelve spots from last year to take the bronze with 168 points.  Brunswick moved up five spot to place fourth with 182 points.  Mason dropped two spots from last year to finished fifth with 185  points.

New for 2016 -  20 teams qualified in each division instead of 16,

Also - Combined Enrollment Reversed http://runohio.com/index.php/news/1148-combined-enrollment-reversed

Girls D I


Girls D II


Girls D III


Boys D 1


Boys D II


Boys D III


Current Issue