40th annual Columbus 10K

RUNOHIO Monthly Newsletter

Sign Up Now


40th annual Columbus 10K

Written by Matt McGowan on 05 June 2017.

Nearly perfect June weather greeted  another outstanding field toeing the starting line in downtown Columbus for the “Oldest Race in Columbus” – the 40th annual HOKA One One Columbus 10K presented by RUNOHIO.  The race again started across the river from the original site of the former Central High School which is now the Center of Science and Industry (COSI), however the course was slightly changed with completion of the Scioto Mile and Scioto Bike Trail.

Columbus' Victor Pataky (30:04) held off Columbus' Evan Schwartz (30:09) who finished second for the second year.  Toledo's Julius Kiptoo (30:33) captured the bronze.  Marysville's Hugh Dowdy (31:02) and Columbus' Jack Schlabig (31:07) took home the final prize money.  Athens' San Stevens-Jones (31:50) and Portsmouth's Eli Gerlach (31:59) finished next.

Toledo's Samantha Bluske defended her title with her 35L13 clocking.  Mansfield's Emma McCarron (35:28) edged Lancaster's Samantha Zishka by three seconds for runner up honors.  Hilliard's Becki Spellman (35:47) and Columbus' Calah Schabach (35:57) rounded out a tight top five finish.  Springboro's Julie Mercado (36:16) and Columbus' Jenny Sanderson (37:16) finished next.

Cincinnati's Harvey Lewis (35:15) captured the master gold.  Powell's John Gilbert (36:09) and Delaware's Kenneth Varian (36:36)  took home the next two master awards.

Springboro's Julie Mercado (36:16) cruised to the women's master title.  Hilliard's Laura Wetz (39:55) and Grove City's Kelly Wolfe (41:41) finished next.

Columbus' Paul Stoodley (35:38) ran a strong race for the grand master top prize.  Dublin's Joe Patrick (38:35) took home the grand master silver while Columbus' Mark Heuerman (40:36) captured the bronze.

Dublin's Michele Danne (44:33) easily won the women's grand master crown.  Columbus senior Mary Jablonski (47:24) was the next 50 and over finisher. Westerville's Noemi Allbritton (49:18) finished next.

Jackson's George Sellers (37:19) ran away with the senior crown while Columbus' Doad Edwards (43:15) finished second.

Columbus Vicci Jaffe (52:30) took home the senior silver after Jablonski.

Dayton's Christopher Thieke (49:48) won the 70 and over category

RUNOHIO signed another two year agreement to be the presenting sponsor for the Columbus 10K.  HOKA One One signed on to be the naming sponsor.  “The Columbus 10K has always been a special event for me, said RUNOHIO’s Matt McGowan. 40 years ago I came home from running the 10,000 meters in the Division III Track and Field National Championships and my younger brother, Jeff, asked me if I would run and go with him to this new race which the Citizen Journal newspaper and the local sport reporters were promoting.  The race started at 6pm and the temperature was in the 90’s.  I was able to win the race.  Years later when the race was starting to tail off I got involved and was the race director for 15 years until I asked Jim Jurcevich to take over as race director do to my high school track coaching conflicts.  When I saw the race was looking for a title sponsor I decided to step up.  I know the costs involved with races, especially in the downtown area.  I hope to ensure the success of the race for a long time.  The race has always been one of only a few races in the area to offer prize money to the top finishers.   Hopefully, you will be able to run or walk next year’s 41st annual  event and keep the tradition alive.”

Jim Jurcevich served as race director since 2009, with Andy Harris taking over race directorship in 2014

with help from the Columbus Running Company .

Runners were greeted by a number of Ohio Olympians as Bob Schul, Butch Reynolds and Bridget Franek cheered on the runners and signed the 40th annual race poster, bib numbers and ribbons on the finishers medals.  Read more about these outstanding athletes - http://runohio.com/index.php/news/1333-olympians-at-columbus-10k

Results - http://runohio.com/index.php/results

Photos - http://runohio.com/index.php/images


Current Issue