Oktoberfest 10K

RUNOHIO Monthly Newsletter

Sign Up Now


Oktoberfest 10K

Written by Matt McGowan on 03 October 2011.

Minster October 2 - One of the top Ohio 10K field assembled at the starting line for the 31st annual Minster Oktoberfest.  Morocco’s Abdelaziz Atmani now living in Indianapolis pulled away from Uganda’s Patrick Cheptoek in the final half mile to race to the finish line for the win and $700 top prize.  Atmani hit the finish line in 28:48.5 to set a new course record breaking Boazche Boiywo 2008 time of 28:54 and taking home an extra $4,000.  Cheptoek finished a close second in 28:57 to win $400.  Kenya’s Emmanuel Bor now living in Alabama finished third in 29:39 one second ahead of Kenya’s Julius Kiptoo who lives in Toledo during the racing season. Athens’ Ridge Robinson (29:46) and Kent’s Andrew Carnes (29:52) also broke 30 minutes to finish fifth and sixth respectfully.  Indianapolis’ John Poray (30:04), Louisville’s Ryan Sheehen (30:19), Bellbrook’s Jason Ordway (30:19) and Kentucky’s Philip Kamau (30:30:21) rounded out the top ten and the overall prize money spots.

2008 winner Bellbrook’s Ann Alyanak used the race as a tune up for the Columbus Marathon as she captured the women’s gold in 34:31.  Russia’s Ludmila Stepanova living in Kentucky took home the runner up prize in 34:48.  Hillsdale, Michigan’s Danielle Salisbury (35:05) nipped Celina’s Kristina Vegh (35:12) for the bronze.  Kentucky’s Bonita Paul (35:28), Xenia’s Christina Johnston (36:05), Ann Arbor’s Monica Joyce (36:15), Vandalia’s Maura Lemon (36:23), Beavercreek’s Katie Flaute (36:54) and West Chester’s Karen Berndt (37:14) rounded out the top ten.

Russia’s Maxim Zoby (33:06) living in Hebron, Kentucky held of Cincinnati’s T.J. Lentz (33:26) for the master crown and top prize.  Eaton’s Jason Newport (34:12) finished third.

Kettering’s Michelle Kitze (40:14) won the women’s master gold.  Kentucky’s Larisa Mikhaylova (42:46) and Dayton’s Lenna Kirby (44:23) finished next.

Maumee’s Don Leck (36:34) won the grand master crown while Mason’s Joe Brown (38:10) and Mansfield’s Brad Ingram (38:41) rounded out the top three.

Maumee’s Joan Mathews (42:22) won the women’s grand master title.  Cincinnati’s Deb Bird (47:31) and Muncie’s Kristin Rajca (48:58) finished next.

Beach City’s Ron Legg (38:57) ran away with the senior gold.  Dayton’s Chris Thieke (44:06) finished second.

Troy’s Dixie Liette (51:24) and St Marys Jan Selby (52:58) captured the top two senior women awards.

Many of the runners stayed after the awards ceremony for the afternoon mile long parade as the entire town of Minster gets behind the Minster Oktoberfest.

Check out the race results - http://www.runohio.com/index.php/results

Check out RUNOHIO’s race photos - http://www.runohio.com/index.php/images

Check out the RUNOHIO Grand Prix - http://www.runohio.com/index.php/grand-prix


Current Issue