2011 Columbus 10K

RUNOHIO Monthly Newsletter

Sign Up Now


2011 Columbus 10K

on 12 June 2011.

Columbus  June 12 - Another quality field was on hand for the Columbus 10K.  The race which started thirty four years ago as the Citizen Journal 10K and started and finished at Central High School moved back to it original start three years ago.  The area in now known as Genoa Park and Central High School is now the Center of Science and Industry.

Defending champion and Kenyan runner Julius Kiptoo, Athens’ Craig Leon and Bellbrook’s Josh Ordway would pull away from the pack as the runners toured the downtown bike trail.  Kiptto who work’s at the Toledo Dave’s Running Shop picked up the $350 top award as he hit the finish line in 30:13.  2008 runner up Leon again captured the silver in 30:20.  Last year’s runner up Ordway finished third in 30:32.  Westerville’s Brandon Nauer (30:59) and Ashland’s Jason Oswalt (31:04) captured the last two prize money spots.

Upper Arlington’s Katie Williams and Beavercreek’s twin sister Kara and Tara Storage would run much of the first half of the course together.  With less than a mile to go Williams surged to win in 34:43.   Last year’s winner Kara Storage took home runner up honors in 35:00 while her sister Tara captured the bronze in 35:42.  Bellbrook’s Becki Ordway (36:27) and Columbus’ Paige Biglin (36:51) rounded out the top five.

Upper Arlington’s Andrew Kessinger (35:07) captured the master title.  Cincinnati’s Landen Summay (35:57) and Groveport’s Robert Moore (36:37) took home the next two master awards.

Liberty Township’s Shannon Davis (40:40) won the women’s master gold with Bexley’s Deborah Nack (43:03) and Youngstown’s Karen Grantonic (44:02) capturing the next two master awards.

Dublin’s Joe Patrick (36:56) won the grand master crown while Jackson’s George Sellers (37:51) and Hogate’s Doug Ordway (38:48) finished next.

Columbus’ Nancy Kangas (49:11) and Westerville’s Marilyn Hundley (53:50) took home the first two women grand master prizes.

Worthington’s Mark Wallenbrock (43:17) and St Marys’ Jan Selby (54:44) won the senior golds.

Age group winners won free Mizuno shoes.

Jim Jurcevich again served as race director with the support of the Columbus Running Company and former race director and inaugural race winner Matt McGowan.

Mark your race calendar for next year’s 35th annual event.

Check out the race results - http://www.runohio.com/index.php/results

Race pictures are posted - http://www.runohio.com/index.php/images and



Current Issue