Major marathon winners Albert Korir and Shura Kitata, as well as 2015 world champion Ghirmay, are among the many additions to the men’s elite field for the Boston Marathon on 17 April, organisers of the World Athletics Elite Platinum Label road race announced today (11).

Today’s announcement expands upon four previously announced men’s entrants including world record-holder and double Olympic champion Eliud Kipchoge, reigning Boston Marathon champion Evans Chebet, 2021 winner Benson Kipruto, and two-time victor Lelisa Desisa.

It brings the total number of sub-2:07 performers in the field to 15. Eight of those have bettered 2:05.

Korir, the 2021 New York Marathon champion, made his Boston debut last year and finished sixth. But Kitata, who beat Kipchoge to win the 2020 London Marathon champion, and Ghebreslassie will be making their Boston Marathon debuts.

Tanzanian record-holder Gabriel Geay is the third fastest man in the field, after Kipchoge and Chebet. Geay, who finished runner-up at the Valencia Marathon last month in 2:03:00, has had success racing on the roads of Boston, winning the 2018 Boston 10K and placing fourth at last year’s Boston Marathon.

“I am excited to be returning to the Boston Marathon this year,” said Geay. “I fulfilled a dream by racing in Boston last year, but my goal is to one day win the race, and I hope that 2023 will be my year.”

Brazilian Olympian and national record-holder Daniel Do Nascimento will make his Boston debut, as will Ethiopia’s Herpasa Negasa, a 2:03:40 marathon runner. Augustine Choge, one of the most versatile runners in the world, will also line up in Boston, hoping to conquer the marathon distance once and for all.

After a 2:08:16 marathon debut in Chicago last year, USA’s Conner Mantz will take on the Boston course for the first time. He will be joined by world 50km record-holder CJ Albertson.

Elite field

Eliud Kipchoge (KEN) 2:01:09
Evans Chebet (KEN) 2:03:00
Gabriel Geay (TAN) 2:03:00
Herpasa Negasa (ETH) 2:03:40
Benson Kipruto (KEN) 2:04:24
Lelisa Desisa (ETH) 2:04:45
Shura Kitata (ETH) 2:04:49
Daniel Do Nascimento (BRA) 2:04:51
John Korir (KEN) 2:05:01
Nobert Kigen (KEN) 2:05:13
Ghirmay Ghebreslassie (ERI) 2:05:34
Andualem Belay (ETH) 2:05:45
Mark Korir (KEN) 2:05:49
Filmon Ande (ERI) 2:06:38
Andamlak Belihu (ETH) 2:06:40
Isaac Mpofu (ZIM) 2:06:48
Hamza Sahli (MAR) 2:07:15
Michael Githae (KEN) 2:07:28
Albert Korir (KEN) 2:08:03
Conner Mantz (USA) 2:08:16
Scott Fauble (USA) 2:08:52
Melikhaya Frans (RSA) 2:09:24
Matt McDonald (USA) 2:09:49
Nico Montanez (USA) 2:09:55
Mick Iacofano (USA) 2:09:55
Mustafa Mohamed (SWE) 2:10:03
Hendrik Pfeiffer (GER) 2:10:18
CJ Albertson (USA) 2:10:23
Nathan Martin (USA) 2:11:05
Colin Mickow (USA) 2:11:22
Wilkerson Given (USA) 2:11:44
Turner Wiley (USA) 2:11:59
Augustine Choge (KEN) 2:20:53